4th BPS International Photography Competition & Exhibition 2019 with patronage The International Federation of Photographic Art FIAP & Photographic Society of America PSA in collaboration with the Bangladesh Shilpakal Academy, the Ministry of Cultural Affairs of the Government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.
The Competition is open to anyone worldwide.

Bangladesh Photographic Society (BPS) organized its 1st BPS National Competition in 1982, 1st BPS International Competition in 1994 and 2nd BPS International Photography Competition in 1997. Since then 13 National Competition and 2 International Competition have been completed successfully.

History of BPS

Bangladesh Photographic Society (BPS) was founded in 1976 by a few dedicated senior and experienced photographers of the country with a mission to organize practicing professional and amateur photographers in Bangladesh.

Under the dynamic leadership of late Mr. Manzoor Alam Beg, a photo maestro and most successful mentor, BPS took off with great expectations and promise. Within a short period of time, BPS was accorded due recognition and acceptance as the country member of the world body – The International Federation of Photographic.

The Bangladesh Photographic Society is the national body representing photography art in Bangladesh, and is the official National Federation recognized by the International Federation of Photographic Art (FIAP); FIAP is an NGO that holds Consultative Status with UNESCO. BPS received the membership of the International Photographic Federation in 1982.

Holding of Monthly, Annual and National and International photography contests & exhibitions have been a regular activity of BPS. BPS members have so for earned more than eleven hundred prestigious awards including first and other coveted prizes in international photographic competitions which are unparallel achievement in any field for Bangladesh.

Every year BPS organizes photographic competitions and exhibition in collaboration with the Bangladesh Shilpakal Academy, the Ministry of Cultural Affairs of the Government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh. BPS has organized a number of international photographic competitions and exhibitions very successfully and many of them with FIAP approval.

BPS recognizes experienced and advanced photographers by awarding recognition like, honorary member (HON. BPS), Licentiate member (LBPS), Associate member (ABPS) and Fellow member (FBPS) after systematic evaluation of their qualification, achievement, contribution, experience and portfolio. In all these categories honorary recognition are also awarded to celebrated and distinguished photographers.

At present BPS have 3528 regular and 204 life members. The society also publishes a monthly magazine ‘Photography’. BPS has a library and gallery of its own. The society regularly arranges monthly photographic contests on various categories to encourage amateur photographers. BPS has a training wing: Bangladesh Photographic Institute (BPI). The institute conducts month long basic photography courses, 2 year diploma course, regular workshops and seminars. A total of over 1200 Students in 92 batches have so far received photographic training from the institute.

The members of BPS have been honoured with more than One thousand international awards. Among the recipients, the most distinguished is late Mr. M. A. Beg who was selected as one of the eleven best photographers of the world at the International Photographic Conference held in Kolkata in 1982. Bangladesh Photographic Society (BPS) also honoured him with the highest honour for photography – ‘Alokchitracharya’ – in 1998.


[one_half]Executive Committee

President Ashfaque Ahmed
Vice President-1 Abu Sayeed Ilyas
Vice President-2 Ahsan Habib Royel
Secretary General Yousuf Tushar AFIAP, Hon. FBPS
Joint Secretary Khandaker Mufizul Islam
Treasurer Sheikh Mohammad Mahadi Hassain
Organizing Secretary Zakirul Mazed Konok ABPS
Exhibition Secretary K. M. Jahangir Alam
International Secretary A. T. M. Mosiur Rahman Parvez
Qualification Secretary Fayzul Islam
Publication Secretary Maynula Hassan
Publicity Secretary Tanmoy Das ABPS
IT Secretary Rony Barua AFIAP
Executive Member-1 Md. Kamal Ahamad
Executive Member-2 Md. Sukur Mia
Executive Member-3 Md. Jamal Uddin Jamal

 [/one_half] [one_half_last]Standing  Committee

Golam Mustafa Hon. FBPS
Khurshid Alam Hon. FBPS
Debabrata Chowdhury Hon. FBPS
Kamal Ahmad Hon. FBPS
Nafis Ahmed Nadvi Hon. FBPS
Kaiser Alam Hon. FBPS
Rafiqul Islam Hon. FBPS